Award Bylaws

Call for Submissions

Emory Elliott Award for Outstanding Paper

Presented at the IASA XI World Congress

University of Silesia in Katowice, Poland

Sept 7-10, 2023

IASA announces a special award to honor the memory of Professor Emory Elliott (1942-2009) in recognition of his contribution to American Studies. He supported an international outlook and encouraged young scholars and professionals both in North America and in other countries around the world, and served for many years on the Executive Council of IASA.

As in the past, the award will be given to an outstanding paper submitted for an IASA conference. It will carry a special citation and an honorarium to help partially recoup the expenses of travel to the IASA conference. The award recipient will present their paper at a special session of the conference. The award-winning paper and up to two other highly commended papers from the competition will be published in the proceedings of the conference, or in other resulting publications in print, or in RIAS: The Review of International American Studies, which is IASA’s refereed journal.


Keeping in view how Prof. Elliott went out of his way to encourage young scholars and faculty in the early and middle stages of their career, the eligibility for the award is restricted to junior or mid-level professionals (within 10 years of obtaining their terminal degree) regardless of nationality, academic affiliation, or discipline.

Selection Rules

1. A panel of judges will be appointed by the IASA Executive Committee to evaluate papers. The decision of the judges will be final.

2. The Award winner will be announced prior to the conference.

3. IASA officers, executive members, and officially designated conference organizers are not eligible to compete.

Application Procedure

1. To apply for prize consideration, send your name, contact information, abstract, and date and place of your terminal degree to: with a copy to by July 1st, 2023. (It is strongly recommended that, to make sure that you will be on the congress programme, you also submit your abstract in the conference system as a usual paper submission – The Prize committee will review all abstracts and will, by July 15, request those which are highest ranked by them to then submit a full paper for consideration. If you are not contacted by July 15, you may assume that your submission is no longer under consideration for the prize. All competitors must be members of IASA by the time of the Congress if not before.

2. The assessment of the award will take into consideration the abstract as well as the written paper, paying special attention to its subject, structure and content. Papers can be written in any of the four official languages of IASA congresses: English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.

3. The length of the final paper submitted should be 3,000 – 3,500 words. It should be sent along with a short CV (no more than 2 pages) and a statement from the candidate guaranteeing that it is their own original unpublished paper. Due date for those materials, (to be submitted only if requested to by the prize committee) will be July 31st, 2023. Send those materials to with a copy to .

4. The prize committee will then evaluate the full papers under its review and rank them, choosing one winner and, if they wish, suggesting that up to two additional papers be recognized as noteworthy and recommending that they be published in an IASA venue as noted above. The winner will be notified by the prize committee by August 15, 2023.


The monetary part of the award will vary from year to year depending on finances, but it is expected that it will be in the range of the equivalent of at least 300 Euros. It will be the responsibility of the prize candidates to follow all of the stipulations above. The decision of the judges is final.

Continue to: Emory Elliott Award Winners