Award Bylaws

Emory Elliott Award for Outstanding Paper Presented at IASA World Congress

Since 2011, IASA has been granting a special Award to the Author of an Outstanding Paper Presented at a IASA World Congress to honor the memory of Professor Emory Elliott (1942-2009) in recognition of his contribution to American Studies. Professor Elliott supported an international outlook in American Studies, encouraging young scholars and professionals both in North America and in other countries around the world to carry out research in such a spirit. As one of the IASA’s Founding Fathers, he served for many years on the Executive Council of our organization.

As in the past, the Award will be granted to the Author of an outstanding paper submitted to a IASA conference. It will carry a special citation and an honorarium to help partially meet the expenses of travel to the IASA event in question. The Award recipient will present her/his paper at a special session of the Congress. The award-winning paper and up to two other highly commended papers from the competition will be published in RIAS: The Review of International American Studies, which is IASA’s refereed journal.


Keeping in view how Prof. Elliott went out of his way to encourage young scholars and faculty in the early and middle stages of their career, the eligibility for the award is restricted to junior or mid-level professionals (within 10 years of obtaining their terminal degree) regardless of nationality, academic affiliation, or discipline.

Selection Rules

1. A panel of judges will be appointed by the IASA Executive Committee to evaluate papers.

2. The Award winner will be announced prior to the conference.

3. IASA officers, executive members, and conference organizers are not eligible to compete.

Application Procedure

1. To apply, send your name, contact information, abstract, and date and place of your terminal degree to the Committee by the deadline of the submissions for the World Congress. The Prize Committee will review all abstracts and will, within two weeks, request the Authors whose abstracts rank highest to submit full papers for further procedures. If you are not contacted by within two weeks of the submission deadline, you may assume that your submission is no longer under consideration for the prize.  All Prize Winners must be members of IASA by the time of the Congress if not before.

2. The assessment of the Award submission will take into account the abstract as well as the complete paper, with special attention paid to the subject, structure, and content of the paper. Papers can be written in any of the four official languages of IASA conferences: English, Spanish, French, or Portuguese.

3. The length of the final paper submitted should be 3,000 – 3,500 words. It should be sent along with a short CV (no more than 2 pages) and a statement from the Candidate guaranteeing that the submission is his/her own original unpublished paper. The due date for those materials, (to be submitted only if requested by the Prize Committee) will be a month before the commencement of the Congress. Materials should be sent to the Prize Committee e-mail address.

4. The Prize Committee will then evaluate accepted papers and rank them, choosing one winner. The Committee may, although is not obliged to, suggest up to two runner-ups and recommend that their contributions be published in the Review of International American Studies. The winner will be notified by the Prize Committee by the end of the Congress.

4. The monetary part of the Award will vary from year to year depending on finances, but it is expected that it will be in the range of the equivalent of at least 300 Euros.

6. It will be the responsibility of the Prize Candidates to follow all of the stipulations above.

7. The decision of the judges is final and irrevocable

Continue to: Emory Elliott Award Winners